Liberty be a Lady

A Special Tribute to Lady Libertas (@ladylibertas93 on Twitter)

It’s time for a break from intellectualized condensation of conspiracy theories. There’s been a rash (take that how you will) of blog “hit pieces” on some of my friends so, as I am want to do, I am answering darkness with light and hatred with a post about one of my favorite “tweeps:” Lady Libertas.

Kinda Like a Twitter Mom…

When I first started on Twitter, I was pretty much a blind mouse in a maze. I signed up for an account because a few of my friends and employees had and it seemed like “the thing to do.” Some of my more amazing acts of Twitter infancy were posting the serial number for my trial edition of Nero, following local services like the parking bot at my place of work, and tweeting “what are you doing?” about once a day. I announced to one of my coworkers that I was so bored with the mess that I was just going to quit. Knowing my politics, he suggested I check “Top Conservatives on Twitter.” I definitely didn’t think I qualified but I signed up on the website and I figured I’d let the top conservatives figure that out for themselves. I lurked and lurked, learning about hash-tags, link shortening services, and picture uploading sites. Finally, I made the mistake of contributing in my own special way and that’s how I first met Lady Libertas (henceforth to be referred to in this post simply as “Lady” J).

I first “made my mark” by going after trolls. If you’re not savvy, a “troll” is a person who spends their time on the net trying to ruin everybody else’s day. TCOT, the aforementioned “Top Conservatives On Twitter,” functions sort of like a message board or a group on other social networking sites. When somebody who disagrees with conservatism adds the TCOT tag (#tcot) to their tweet, I consider this the twitter extension of “trolling.” I thought this was bad form so my goal was to combat this with a combination of humor and links to sites that answered the trolls’ claims. I knew practically nobody and a few people, over time, stepped in to let me know when I did something stupid or to offer gentle advice. None were as helpful back in those days as Lady. Because she had a WordPress.com blog to expand on Twitter conversations, I needed one. Because Lady was so honest and forthcoming in arguments about her associations with people conservatives are regularly accused of hating, I stopped caring how my friends would “play” in TCOT land. I tweeted once something about the book Ender’s Game and she told me she was a fan. We decided we’d make an interesting parallel to Locke and Demosthenes because, as I said, I was the civil one and, as she said, we were plotting to take over the world.

Fishy Emails and Czar Fails

We talked back and forth quite a bit and expanded that to Skype, a voice over IP (VOIP) program and email when Twitter got the big hack-job a few months ago. I remember clearly trying to figure out how to use the thing that night while Twitter tried to work and failed over and over again. @cprater and @kimberlyhaney were also on the call with us. When the others retired for the night, Lady and I continued talking and, though it’s been sparse at times, we have been ever since. When I made it my mission to take down the “fishy” White House site that asked you to turn in your neighbors, Lady kept the message going whenever I had to leave my computer. In turn, she popularized the use the #fishy tag and even put up Seesomethingfishy.com.

I don’t know exactly what I’ve done to earn her friendship but I was on a conference call with her on the night when we first started looking into former “Green Jobs Czar” Van Jones and may God rest his career, permanently. When Lady tweeted “Who is Van Jones?” and a series of links we dug up together, there were five or six tweets with his name in it that turned up in the search and all but one was positive (the last being a link to a benign story). A month or so later, Glenn Beck picked up the story on TV but Lady is largely responsible for bringing it to Twitter at least four weeks before the rest of the world cared. Lady was there, in other words, for those first few important victories that taught conservative net junkies we could make a difference and that we had something of an obligation to do so. We all owe her a debt of gratitude for her service. Personally, I probably wouldn’t be around without her. At the very least, my crusades would be against boredom at work and meaningful use of Twitter, not tyranny and the greed of nameless conspiracies.

So Lady “Lee-burr-toss” J I thank you from the bottom of my IRL heart. God bless you and keep you. I’m glad you’re on our side.

A Patriot’s Resume

Unfortunately, it seems we don’t get to see as much of Lady on twitter, lately. Fortunately, that’s because she’s very busy doing all kinds of good stuff. I’m blatantly stealing from the “about” section of her WordPress.com blog (also in my blog-roll) but repetition is the mother of interest. At any rate, here’s some of what our Fishy Czar has been up to:

–          Was one of the chief organizers of South Florida Tea Parties (now she’s moving)

–          She’ll soon be the Political Editor for “73wire.com :” (73 Wire on Twitter) an online news site with Eric Odom of the American Liberty Alliance (taking on HuffPo!)

–          She writes a guest blog for The Persistent Conservative

–          She’ll be doing podcasts for The Persistent Conservative with @magician2012 and @zombieshootout

The closing line from her “about” page:

“Rock on, Patriots!  We are making a difference & I am so proud to be fighting the good fight with all of you!”

I, for one, can’t wait.

3 Responses to Liberty be a Lady

  1. […] Liberty be a Lady « A Conservative's Opinion and Solutions rdickerhoof.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/liberty-be-a-lady – view page – cached It’s time for a break from intellectualized condensation of conspiracy theories. There’s been a rash (take that how you will) of blog “hit pieces” on some of my friends so, as I am want… (Read more)It’s time for a break from intellectualized condensation of conspiracy theories. There’s been a rash (take that how you will) of blog “hit pieces” on some of my friends so, as I am want to do, I am answering darkness with light and hatred with a post about one of my favorite “tweeps:” Lady Libertas. (Read less) — From the page […]

  2. […] I do ANYTHING else, I want to send out a huge THANK YOU to rdickerhoof (@rdickerhoof on Twitter and Conservative Solutions Blog) who honored me tremendously in a piece about…well, […]

  3. Troll says:

    Very touching, Ender 😉 😉 🙂

    She costs about $2000 / month.

    Just so’s you know.

Leave a Reply

